Intermittent Fasting: A Full Day of Eating

Intermittent fasting has gained popularity for helping people lose considerable weight. While it is true that only an energy deficit leads to weight loss, we need to start thinking about the more efficient way to get there. Think about the energy deficit being the destination while intermittent fasting (or veganism, carnivore, keto) is the vehicle to get you there.

Intermittent fasting is interesting because it does not follow traditional fasting, where you do not eat for days at a time. Instead, you have windows for eating and fasting. One of the more common windows is 16 hours of fasting followed by eight hours of eating. While 16 hours might sound like a lot, you will be asleep most of it. In fact, you might be doing it already. Here is how my day goes when I am fasting for 16 hours:

My fasting starts the day before; my last meal is at 7 p.m. I wake up at 5 a.m., already fasted for 10 hours. I do my cardio and strength training at that time to get it out of the way. Yes, you can train in a fasted state; it can even help you lose more weight.

After my workout at 8 a.m., I take my dog for a mile walk, and although I am fasting, this additional exercise does not add to any hunger I may have from not eating for 14 hours.

At around 11 a.m., I begin my eating window. At this point of the fast, I am extremely sensitive to anything I add to my body. I prioritize eating protein to enjoy treats later in the day. On a day when I eat 1800 calories, I start my breakfast with a pound of thin pork chops with two eggs. (750 calories) I eat everything with either water or diet sodas, not to add additional calories. Now, I am incredibly full and have to wait several hours to eat again.

At around 2 p.m., I have an electrolyte packet to help me replenish my reserves. Following that, I may eat either a candy bar or some chips to get additional calories in. Today, I went with some Paqui Ghost Pepper chips (280 calories.)

I have my last meal starting at 6 p.m. so I can finish by 7 p.m. Having 770 calories remaining, I still have to get my micronutrients in. People get them from vegetables and fruits. I’m not too fond of vegetables and not a fan of fruits. So, instead, I take a multivitamin. I am not advocating for you to stop eating your veggies; instead, I am showing you a more practical approach to getting them. With the remaining calories, I eat either my wife’s or my mother’s food. Today, I ate three Tostones de Platano (fried breadfruit) with stew meat (estimated 800 calories.) That is around 1800 calories, which, if I maintain it, will result in a 2lb fat loss every week. Remember, every person has a unique caloric need. (see my first post for more information on this.)

Breadfruit is commonly consumed in Puerto Rico. Photo by Studio Kealaula on Unsplash

Comments

Leave a comment